Me… a camper?

Hey Hey!!

This past Thursday, my school started the ABC countdown.  That means that as of Monday, there are 25 days left of school!  That’s crazy!  This year has gone by so fast and everything at the end of the year is always a whirlwind of crazy!

Last week, I was on a 5 day camping trip with the 7th graders.  It was super fun, but holy pickles, was it exhausting!  Not only is the fact that I spent 5 whole days with 46 13 and 14 year-olds enough to make some people sun for the hills, but the lodge that we stayed in was, as we describe it “uphills both ways”.  The camp was on the top of a cliff and most of the activities were near the water (hence the hills) so everywhere you were going was at least a mile away. During the week, I unsuccessfully canoed 3 miles- my boat tipped over around the half way point and I was soaked the rest of the day-, conquered heights on a high ropes course, learned how to belay for someone rock climbing, and attended classes on fungus, water quality testing, geodes, raptors, reptiles, bats, and archery.  It was a very busy week but I leaned a ton!

Because of this-and my falling from a canoe (more on this in a bit)- my journaling has been a bit lapse lately.  Obviously, I wasn’t home to make my entries, however this has helped me to see that I don’t have to be logging things every day to be achieving my goals.  I felt, at times, that I wasn’t being successful if I didn’t have something to “write home about” and that bothered me.  Looking back, I really did a lot of really new and different things that I may never have done if not for this experience.  That, already is something amazing to write home about!  I’m not usually one to go do new things so this trip was a bit out of my comfort zone (my students were describing me like Mr. Magoo- just kind of ambling through things they could tell I was a bit scared to do- but they cheered me on all the time with promises of “Harry Potter” at the end. A promise they did keep, by the way, as they insisted on watching the movie on the ride home.

The downside of this trip, was that spending an entire day wet and cold, did me in and I have been sick for a week now.  This is the first time in almost two years that I have been under the weather enough to stay home from work and I missed two days.  I was able to push myself to do some extra chores around the house today though because I was starting to feel a bit better.  But, as with camping, being sick has limited what I have been able to do, which means I haven’t been to the gym in almost 2 weeks… I’m pretty bummed about this because I was doing so well and just starting to see the scale numbers going down, but it will hopefully give me just the right amount of rest to get back in the habit full steam next week.

I finally set a goal for working out and that is to run 100 cumulative miles by my birthday.  That is six months away and so far I have run 13.73.  I’d say that is already a win because anyone who knows me, knows that  normally, the only reason I’d be running would be for ice cream! But I have once again turned to the couch to 5k workout and it’s kicking my butt as usual, but I am pushing through it.

Anyway, thanks for making it this far through my ramblings!  Sorry I don’t have any pictures to share with you this time, but, I will be doing a monthly wrap-up within the next few days so you will get some pictures then!

Until next time!!

Leave a Reply

